13 November 2014

Diemersfontein wins Perold Pinotage Trophy

Diemersfontein won this year’s International Wine & Spirit Competition Abraham Perold Trophy for Pinotage, sponsored by The Pinotage Association, for Diemersfontein ‘Carpe Diem’ Pinotage Reserve 2012. 
 Competition was fierce with entries not only from South Africa but also New Zealand and California, however the judges chose Carpe Diem which they described as 

Opaque with tight, bluish rim. Powerful, rich, full fruited nose with ripe dark berries, plums, vanilla and coffee. Bold entry into the deep, full flavoured mouth. Flavours of dark cherry black berries, lots of vanilla, leather and more coffee. Intensity develops all the while in the mouth. Incredibly smooth flow and fine tannins. Well supported by spicy oak. Very palatable now yet lots of development to come.

Diemersfontein owner David Sonnenberg accepted the trophy from Peter May, representing The Pinotage Association, last night at the International Wine & Spirit Competition Banquet in London’s Guildhall in the presence of IWSC President Laura Catena and Chairman Viscount Thurso. 

It was a good night for South Africa.

The Sauvignon Blanc Trophy was won by Bloemendal Estate’s Suider Terra Sauvignon Blanc 2013

The Chenin Blanc Trophy was won by Oldenburg Vineyards Chenin Blanc 2013

The Blended Red Trophy was won by Jordan Wine Estate ‘Cobblers Hill, 2010 (a stunning Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot-Cabernet Franc blend -- Jordan also took home the South African Winery of the Year Trophy) 

The Bottle Fermented Sparkling Wine Trophy was won by Graham Beck Wines Blanc de Blancs 2009

The World Wide Brandy Trophy was won by KWV Grape Brandy 12 Year Old

And South Africa’s Dave Hughes was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Trophy.

Congratulations to all. 
David Sonnenberg, Diemersfontein (left) accepts the Abraham Perold Trophy from  Peter May  on behalf of  The Pinotage Association , and IWSC President Laura Cantena

1 comment:

  1. last year end well with good trophy........... congrats to all