28 September 2016

Neethlingshof 'Owl Post' 2014 Pinotage Wins IWSC Trophy

Congratulations to De Wet Viljoen and his team for winning the 2016 International Wine & Spirit Competition Abraham Perold Trophy for Pinotage with Neethlingshof Owl Post Pinotage 2014. 

The Abraham Perold Trophy for Pinotage is sponsored by The Pinotage Association.

The International Wine & Spirit Competition (IWSC) , now in its 47th year, awarded Gold Medals to the following Pinotages/Pinotage Blends

  • Beyerskloof Diesel Pinotage 2011    
  • Beyerskloof Diesel Pinotage 2013                
  • Diemersfontein Carpe Diem Pinotage Reserve 2014 (Outstanding)                           
  • Neethlingshof Owl Post Pinotage 2014 (Outstanding & Trophy)                             
  • Romond Rebus Cape Cuvée 2011 (Blended Red - Pinotage dominated)

And Silver Outstanding Medals to

  • Bellingham The Bernard Series Bush Vine Pinotage 2014
  • Beyerskloof Faith 2011(Blended Red - Pinotage Dominated)                     
  • KWV The Mentors Pinotage 2014          
  • Painted Wolf The Den Pinotage 2014
  • Wildekrans Pinotage Barrel Select Reserve 2014
  • Rooiberg Winery Pinotage Reserve 2015

A good showing for Beyerskloof, who won a total of 19 medals.

IWSC say
South African Wine Farms were awarded an astounding 30 Gold medals, and 9 Gold Outstanding. Unusually, of all awarded wines, 24% were Silver Outstanding, 53% Silver and only 18% Bronze. Usually the larger proportion are awarded Bronze medals, highlighting how high the standards are for this set of South African wines.

Highlights include a Gold Outstanding  Diemersfontein Wines  for their Carpe Diem Pinotage Reserve, which judges called ‘elegant and classy’.

Full results are available online at

No comments:

Post a Comment