02 December 2017

Christiaan Groenewald is 2017 Diners Club Winemaker of Year

Christiaan Groenewald has won Diners Club Winemaker of the Year for his Eagles Cliff ‘Arendskloof’ Pinotage 2017.
Christiaan Groenwald
This is the second win for Christiaan; he won in 2013 when the category was Non-Bordeaux with Arendskloof Tannat Syrah Voetspore 2011.

The story is covered in The Citizen.

Congrats to Christiaan.

 Picture courtesy Diners Club

01 December 2017

Beyers Truter is a Wine Legend

South Africa’s official wine industry body, Wines of SouthAfrica, have labelled Beyers  (‘Prince of Pinotage’) Truter as a Wine Legend.
Beyers Truter
An article by Malu Lambert tell of Beyers life from university days and the co-incidence that saw him become Kanonkop’s winemaker.

Beyers said the turning point for Pinotage was when they won The Robert Mondavi Trophy for International Winemaker of the Year. “That was the first year I used new oak with Pinotage.  I learnt the technique from Frans [Simonsig]  Malan—who was doing it way before me.”

“In the beginning of the Absa Top 10 Pinotage there were about four wines we could really put at the top—but these days, we could change the name to the Absa Top 30 Pinotage. There has been such a massive shift in quality—and it’s clear to see that winemakers are truly in sync with their terroirs.”  

Read the full story here.

Photo of Beyers Truter courtesy wosa.co.za