29 August 2015

2015 Pinotage Top 10 Winners

Winners of this years ABSA Pinotage Top 10 Competition are 
  • Altydgedacht Pinotage 2013
  • Ayama Pinotage 2013
  • Diemersdal Pinotage Reserve 2014
  • Flagstone Writer’s Block Pinotage 2013
  • Groot Constantia Pinotage 2013
  • Kanonkop Estate Pinotage 2012
  • Neethlingshof Estate Pinotage 2014
  • Overhex Survivor Pinotage 2014
  • Rijk’s Reserve Pinotage 2011
  • Windmeul Pinotage Reserve 2014

This year, the 19th  competition first held in 1997 and sponsored by ABSA, there were 154 enteries

Making records with the most wins were Kanonkop Estate and Rijk's Cellar who both took home their 10th trophy. 

Chairman of The Pinotage Association, Beyers Truter, remarked:

“When the Pinotage Association founded the Absa Top 10 Competition in 1997, we had a vision of not only honouring Pinotage wines but also to create legends. By winning Top 10 awards ten times, Kanonkop and Rijk’s have now undoubtedly established themselves not only as legendary producers of Pinotage, but icons in the South African wine industry, too.
As a producer myself I know how high the demands of the judging panel are, and to show the kind of consistency as Kanonkop and Rijk’s have done throughout the years is an affirmation of the winemaker's understanding of his terroir, the unique traits of the Pinotage grape and tremendous winemaking skill.”

Enjoying their first trophy were Paarl's  Ayama and Worcester-based Overhex Wines International.  

Stellenbosch, Paarl and Durbanville each are home to two winners, and there are four wines each from the 2013 and 2014 vintages.

The judging panel were Duimpie Bayly, winemakers Neil Ellis, Fred Viljoen and Corlea Fourie, wine writer Samarie Smit, sommelier Georgio Meletio and viticulturist Stephan Joubert. 

Congratulations to all.


No comments:

Post a Comment