15 August 2019

2019 Pinotage Top 10 Winners

Winners of the 2019 Absa Top 10 Pinotage Competition were announced last night at an awards function at Boschendal. They are:

Anura Reserve 2016
WO Simonsberg-Paarl (Anura), winemaker Stander Maass

Badsberg  2018
WO Breedekloof (Badsberg Wynkelder), winemaker Henri Swiegers

Beyerskloof Winemaker’s Reserve 2017
WO Stellenbosch (Beyerskloof Wyne), winemaker Anri Truter

Diemersdal Reserve 2018
WO Durbanville (Diemersdal Landgoed), winemaker Thys Louw

Fleur de Cap Series Privee  2016
WO Coastal Region (Distell – Fleur du Cap Wines), winemaker Pieter Badenhorst

Kanonkop Estate 2015
WO Simonsberg-Stellenbosch (Kanonkop Wine Estate), winemaker Abrie Beeslaar

Overhex Survivor 2017
WO Swartland (Overhex Wines International), winemaker Ben Snyman

Simonsig Redhill  2017
WO Stellenbosch (Simonsig Landgoed), winemaker Debbie Thompson

Vondeling Bowwood 2016
WO Voor Paardeberg (Vondeling Wines), winemaker Matthew Copeland

Wildekrans  Barrel Select Reserve 2016
WO Botrivier (Wildekrans Wine Estate), winemaker Braam Gericke

This is the 14th win for Kanonkop, the 9th win for Beyerskloof and the 8th for Diemersdal.

Beyers Truter, chairman and founder of the Pinotage Association, highlighted that Pinotage’s quality continues its upwards curve and that the market for wines made from this cultivar continues to grow – locally and abroad. He said:

“The exceptional quality of the wines we’re seeing year after year shows us that producers, viticulturists and winemakers are pulling together. In the end it’s all about being in touch with one’s terroir. Absa shares this opinion and has been a partner of the Pinotage Association for more than two decades. They also share our long term vision, which is one of Pinotage prospering worldwide.

What I also find particularly encouraging is the variety of styles possible with Pinotage. This year the extraordinary spread of winners hail from six wine regions, each with their unique style, character and challenges. Our young winemakers are a brave bunch and are pushing the boundaries of what their respective regions can offer in terms of not only quality, but also diversity.”

Museum Class Trophy Winners (wines older than 10 years)
Fairview Primo Pinotage 2007
WO Coastal origin (Fairview), winemaker Anthony de Jager

Hill & Dale Pinotage 2007
WO Stellenbosch (Hill & Dale), winemaker Guy Webber

Rijk’s Private Cellar Pinotage 2009
WO Tulbagh (Rijk’s Cellars), winemaker Pierre Wahl

No comments:

Post a Comment